Professional cable manufacturer
An EV charging cable is EN 50620 in Europe, IEC 62893 internationally, GB/T 33594 in China and a UL 62 / UL 2263 type in North America — and the AC and DC sides of the same charger do not always follow the same one. This page maps the four systems against the charger interface and the charging mode, so a specification written in one can be quoted in another.
There is no single “EV cable standard”. Two standards cover the cable depending on which side of the charger you are on. For AC charging, EN 50620 is the European standard — halogen-free, rated up to 450/750 V, for charging modes 1 to 3 — and IEC 62893-3 is its international counterpart for the same AC modes. For DC charging, IEC 62893-1 is the general-requirements document, rated up to 0.6/1 kV AC or 1500 V DC and 90 °C conductor, covering charging modes 1 to 4, with IEC 62893-4 for mode 4 DC — and IEC TS 62893-4-2 specifically for a DC cable used with a thermal-management (liquid-cooling) system. China's standard is GB/T 33594, rated AC 450/750 V and DC 1.0 kV with conductor temperatures of 90 °C or 125 °C — note that GB/T 33594-2017 has been superseded by the 2025 edition. North America uses UL 62 and UL 2263 type codes: EVJE/EVJT at 300 V and EVE/EVT at 600 V or 1000 V. The connector is a separate layer again — IEC 62196-2 for Type 2 AC, IEC 62196-3 for DC, GB/T 20234.3 in China, UL 2251 in North America. The cable standard and the connector standard are never the same document, and both have to be named.
A charging cable must do two jobs that pull in opposite directions. It carries power — up to several hundred amps on a DC fast charger — and it also carries the signals that make charging safe: the control pilot, the proximity pilot, and often the data link to the vehicle. On top of that it is handled, coiled, dragged and bent every day of its life, outdoors, in the rain and in the cold. So a charging cable standard is written for a flexible cable under severe conditions, not for a fixed installation.
The second reason there are two standards is the charger itself. AC charging and DC charging are different electrical systems. AC charging at Type 2 passes the vehicle's own onboard charger, and the cable sees 230/400 V at up to 32 A per phase. DC fast charging bypasses the onboard charger and pushes hundreds of amps at up to 1000 V or 1500 V straight into the pack. The cable for one is not the cable for the other, and the standards split along that line.
IEC 62893-1 is the general-requirements document for EV charging cables. Its scope sets the envelope for the whole family: cables with extruded insulation and sheath, rated up to and including 0.6/1 kV AC or 1500 V DC, for flexible applications under harsh conditions, supplying power between the charging station's supply point and the vehicle. The cable carries power and, where needed, communication, and is applicable to charging modes 1 to 4 of IEC 61851-1. The maximum conductor temperature is 90 °C.
Two details in that scope do a lot of work when you are reading a datasheet:
On the DC side, the liquid-cooling distinction matters. IEC TS 62893-4-1:2020 is the DC charging application without a thermal management system; IEC TS 62893-4-2:2021 is the DC charging cable intended to be used with a thermal management system — that is, a liquid-cooled cable. A 600 A liquid-cooled cable and a 600 A air-cooled cable are not the same product even though both are “DC”, and the two sub-parts are how the standards separate them.
EN 50620 is the European standard that a CE-marked charging cable is normally tested against. Its scope is narrower on voltage and wider on application: it specifies design, dimensions and test requirements for halogen-free cables with extruded insulation and sheath, rated up to and including 450/750 V, for flexible applications under severe conditions, to supply power and communication to an electric vehicle. The cable may be an integral part of the vehicle, part of a detachable cable assembly with a vehicle connector, or permanently attached to a fixed charging point.
The published size range under EN 50620 shows the two voltage classes side by side:
| Core function | Voltage class | Size | Cores |
|---|---|---|---|
| Power cores | 300/500 V | 1.5 / 2.5 mm² | 3 core |
| Power cores | 450/750 V | 1.5 mm² | 3 core |
| Power cores | 450/750 V | 2.5 to 35 mm² | 3 / 4 / 5 core |
| Control / control-pilot cores | — | 0.5 to 1.0 mm² | number not specified |
EN 50620 is a European standard written around the European AC charging system; IEC 62893 is the international family that also covers DC and liquid cooling. A cable tested only to IEC 62893 does not automatically satisfy EN 50620, and vice versa. Where a project specifies CE compliance, the test standard named has to be the EN series; check which one the certificate actually cites.
China's charging cable standard is GB/T 33594. The 2017 edition applies to charging cables for the conductive charging connection device of an electric vehicle, with rated voltage AC 450/750 V and below, and DC 1.0 kV and below, and may include signal or control cores. It specifies the use characteristics, designation method, technical requirements, marking, test methods, inspection rules, and packaging, transport and storage.
The construction requirements its scope and material grading set out:
GB/T 33594-2017 was withdrawn on 1 May 2026 and replaced in full by GB/T 33594-2025. A quotation that cites GB/T 33594-2017 as the current edition is citing a superseded document. When a project names GB/T 33594, ask which edition the certificate is against — the year matters at exactly this point.
North America does not use a European-style charging-cable standard. It uses UL 62 (Flexible Cords and Cables), whose scope was expanded in the 19th edition (2014) to incorporate electric vehicle cables, and UL 2263, which covers EV cables specifically. Between them they define a set of type codes that appear on the cable jacket:
UL 62's current scope states the ratings plainly: electric vehicle cables are rated to a maximum of 1000 V, with a temperature rating in the region of 60–105 °C dry / 60 °C wet, an oil-resistant and sunlight-resistant jacket, and suitability for wet locations. UL 2263 covers EV cables at 300 V, 600 V and 1000 V AC/DC with 60, 75, 90 or 105 °C ratings and the same type designations, and allows data, signal, communication or optical-fibre members inside the construction.
These cables are installed under the NEC, where EV charging is Article 625 and flexible cords and cables are Article 400. That is a separate layer again from the UL type code: the type code says what the cable is, the NEC article says how it is used.
A cable marked EVE 1000V 105C DRY 60C WET is telling you three things at once: the type code (EVE), the voltage class (1000 V) and the temperature rating (105 °C dry, 60 °C wet). Do not read the “1000V” as the system voltage — it is the cable's rating class. And note that a wet rating of 60 °C is normal for these cables and is not the same figure as the dry rating.
Laid side by side, the four systems look like this:
| System | Standard | Voltage | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| International — AC | IEC 62893-1 + -3 | 0.6/1 kV AC | Modes 1–3, 90 °C, general requirements in Part 1 |
| International — DC | IEC 62893-1 + -4 | 0.6/1 kV AC / 1500 V DC | Mode 4; -4-2 for thermal-management (liquid-cooled) DC |
| Europe | EN 50620 | ≤ 450/750 V | Halogen-free, flexible, severe conditions; modes 1–3 |
| China | GB/T 33594 | AC 450/750 V / DC 1.0 kV | AC and DC in one standard; 90 °C or 125 °C |
| North America | UL 62 / UL 2263 | 300 / 600 / 1000 V | Type codes EVJE, EVJT, EVE, EVT; NEC Article 625 |
The cable standard depends on the connector and the charging mode as much as on the voltage. Tell us which — Type 2, CCS, GB/T DC, a liquid-cooled assembly — and we will confirm which standard the cable has to answer to, or quote against the one your project names. Request a quote or email us.
Cross-reference index
EV charging is the youngest of these families, and the one where national uptake of IEC 62893 and EN 50620 is least even. A quotation may name the European part, the IEC part, or a national deviation of either. Enter the designation in the cross-reference index to see the six systems side by side, and which of them has published a code at all.
The cable standard tells you what the cable is; the connector standard tells you what it plugs into. They are never the same document, and a datasheet that names only one of them is incomplete.
| Interface | Standard | Region / use |
|---|---|---|
| Type 2 (Mennekes) AC | IEC 62196-2 | Europe; AC charging, up to 32 A three-phase |
| DC couplers (CCS and others) | IEC 62196-3 | Dimensional compatibility of DC charging couplers |
| General requirements | IEC 62196-1 | Plugs, socket-outlets, vehicle connectors and inlets |
| GB/T DC | GB/T 20234.3 | China; DC charging coupler |
| North America | UL 2251 | Plugs, receptacles and couplers for EV charging |
| NACS | SAE J3400 series | North American charging standard interface |
Four points where the cross-reference is not a simple letter swap.
A cable rated to EN 50620 for AC charging is not thereby a DC fast-charge cable. The DC side follows IEC 62893-1 with its 0.6/1 kV / 1500 V DC envelope and the -4 sub-parts. When a charger has both an AC and a DC cable, both standards are in play in the same installation.
A liquid-cooled DC cable follows IEC TS 62893-4-2, the thermal-management variant, not the ordinary DC part. The coolant circuit is a component of the delivered assembly, and the cooling fluid, flow rate and inlet temperature are properties of the charging system rather than fixed cable parameters.
GB/T 33594-2017 and GB/T 33594-2025 are different documents. Where a Chinese project names GB/T 33594, confirm the edition the certificate is against — quoting the superseded 2017 number as current is a common and avoidable error.
An EVE 1000V marking is the cable's rating class; a DC charger's output may be 400 V, 800 V or higher within that class. Read the type code as a class, not as a measurement.
This page gives the standard relationships, the voltage and temperature envelopes, and the type-code logic. It does not decide whether a specific product complies with a specific project specification, and it does not state certification outcomes — those are confirmed against the certificate for the exact construction and by the receiving authority for your project. Where a figure is a published product parameter rather than a clause of a standard, it is presented as such; where a standard's table value is not in our library, the page points to the table and does not invent the number.
It depends on the side of the charger. For AC charging, EN 50620 is the European standard and IEC 62893-3 the international one for modes 1 to 3. For DC charging, IEC 62893-1 is the general-requirements document with IEC 62893-4 for mode 4, and IEC TS 62893-4-2 for a liquid-cooled DC cable. In China the standard is GB/T 33594, covering AC 450/750 V and DC 1.0 kV in one document. In North America, UL 62 and UL 2263 define the type codes EVJE, EVJT, EVE and EVT.
EN 50620 is a European standard for halogen-free AC charging cable rated up to 450/750 V, for modes 1 to 3. IEC 62893 is an international family covering 0.6/1 kV AC or 1500 V DC, modes 1 to 4, including DC and liquid-cooled DC. They overlap on AC charging but are not interchangeable: a cable tested only to IEC 62893 does not automatically satisfy EN 50620, and a project requiring CE compliance has to name the EN series.
Both appear, in different standards. EN 50620 tops out at 450/750 V; IEC 62893-1 goes to 0.6/1 kV AC. Within IEC 62893-1, a 300/500 V ordinary-duty cable is permitted only for mode 1. Read the voltage class together with the standard and the mode, not on its own.
No. GB/T 33594-2017 was withdrawn on 1 May 2026 and replaced in full by GB/T 33594-2025. Where a project names GB/T 33594, confirm which edition the certificate is against — citing the 2017 number as current is a common error.
They are North American EV cable type codes under UL 62 and UL 2263. EVJE and EVJT are the 300 V class; EVE and EVT are the 600 V or 1000 V class. Temperature ratings are around 60–105 °C dry / 60 °C wet, with oil- and sunlight-resistant jackets. They are installed under the NEC, where EV charging is Article 625 and flexible cords and cables are Article 400.
No. A DC charging cable without thermal management follows IEC TS 62893-4-1:2020; a DC cable intended for use with a thermal management system — a liquid-cooled cable — follows IEC TS 62893-4-2:2021. The coolant circuit, flow rate and inlet temperature are properties of the charging system, agreed per project with the charger manufacturer.
No. The cable standard and the connector standard are separate documents, and both apply to the same product. A Type 2 assembly is a cable to EN 50620 or IEC 62893-3 plus a connector to IEC 62196-2 (AC) or IEC 62196-3 (DC). In China the DC coupler is GB/T 20234.3; in North America it is UL 2251. A datasheet that names only one of the two is incomplete.
IEC 61851-1 defines modes 1 to 4. Modes 1 to 3 are AC charging — mode 3 being charging from a dedicated charge point with control-pilot signalling. Mode 4 is DC charging. IEC 62893-1 applies to all four; EN 50620 to the AC modes; the IEC 62893-4 sub-parts to mode 4. A 300/500 V ordinary-duty cable is permitted only for mode 1.
Tell us the interface (Type 2, CCS, GB/T DC, NACS), the charging mode and the current, and whether it is a liquid-cooled assembly. If your specification is written in IEC, EN or UL letters, send that instead — our engineers will confirm the cable construction that meets it.

How this was written: every figure in this article is checked against the standard or datasheet listed in Sources before publication. Where a value is our own measurement, it is labelled as such.